RSS

Motivation Monday – Gather the Family Together

24 Oct

Yesterday several descendants of Jan and Marie Holik met at my house. A few people I had seen before and some I had never met. The same can be said for everyone who attended. We had Holik, Privoznik and Hokr’s here.

Many photos were shared, stories were told, questions were asked and of course, we ate. There was apple pie, kolacky, houska, poppyseed cake, veggies and dip and crackers and hummus. Lots of coffee and tea was drunk as the afternoon progressed.

I realized I was playing hostess and did not get to sit and actually talk very much with a few of my guests, but they were all having a good time pouring over four large albums of photos I had. I pulled out a copy of my book when my cousin Dennis mentioned he bought it (thank you!) and my other cousin LeRoy was telling us about Robert Brouk. I pulled out all my Holik and Privoznik and Brouk files. LeRoy read through his older brother’s WWII Individual Deceased Personnel File. In it were handwritten letters by his mom. I think he was very touched as he read it.

You know I did not enter one thing into the family tree. I took a few notes and need to give a few people some information on where they can locate records for their parents. I need to scan some pictures for a cousin. But the day was fantastic. Next time I’ll add and update information in the database.

It was a very successful meeting and I plan to host a gathering again soon! Hopefully my cousins who are my age will be able to come with their kids. But my twins had a fun fun time playing with their cousin Kathy! She loves Star Wars, big dogs, riding bikes and playing basketball (even with little boys who take her points).

So what are you waiting for? Gather your relatives together. I’ll be doing this again in a few weeks with the Kokoska/Kokaska side of the family. Stay tuned for more on that!

Enhanced by Zemanta
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Motivation Monday – Gather the Family Together

  1. robert_holik@hotmail.com

    May 4, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Hi, I recently came across this blog. My name is Robert Holik. Do any of these names make sense? Because I know that I had some relatives head over to America, but that’s all I know. I was born in Sweden but I come from Slovakia. Marci Holik (my father) Stevan Holik (His father, my grandfather) Eva Holik (my grandmother)

    Thanks for any info!
    Robert Holik

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,739 other followers

