RSS

Follow Friday – Chicagoland Library Genealogy Groups

14 Oct

Recently I started attending Chicagoland library genealogy group meetings.

The two I have attended so far are at the Fountaindale Library in Bolingbrook and Schaumburg Township District Library.

What do these two genealogy groups offer members?

  • Free admission. There are no society dues.
  • Great blogs with fantastic content!
  • Program handouts.
  • Amazing, knowledgeable speakers.
  • The chance to connect with others who share your genealogical passion.
  • Genealogy research areas in their libraries.

I have yet to attend a meeting at the Darien Indian Prairie Library but it is on my list to do before the year ends!

I belong to a few area societies but cannot always, or do not always wish to make their meetings. If there is a speaker I have heard give the same presentation before or something that is just way outside my research work I will choose to attend something else. It is a great idea to keep these libraries in mind when searching for a genealogy society or group to join.

I am compiling list of as many area groups as I can find so keep checking back. If you know of a group, please let me know in the comment section.

Enhanced by Zemanta
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Follow Friday – Chicagoland Library Genealogy Groups

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,738 other followers

