RSS

Mappy Monday – Cemetery Plots

06 Jun

As part of the NGS Home Study Course I’m taking I have to do an assignment on cemetery records. My assignment will be completed at Bohemian National Cemetery next week when I visit to do some research for myself and a client.

I have to prepare a report of the name, location and directions for reaching the cemetery. Draw a map of a family plot and draw the locations of the tombstones. I then need to transcribe inscriptions on the stones and view additional burial records.

This should be a fun assignment. And my hope is to also fine Emilie/Anna Kokoska while I’m at the cemetery!

Enhanced by Zemanta
 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Mappy Monday – Cemetery Plots

  1. Nikk LaRue

    June 6, 2011 at 7:59 am

    This sounds great, Jen! I did a small cemetery in Indiana for the cemetery assignment but it was a bigger cemetery than I could map in a few hours, which was all the time I had (plus, the weather got nasty), so I’m planning on trying to get back and finish the complete cemetery mapping at some point. The cemetery was also attached to a small chapel which did not maintain records on site so I couldn’t access any burial information on that trip.

    You should have a great time since you’ll be able to view the stones, map the area and get into the burial records on one trip. Let us know how it goes!

     
  2. Melissa

    June 6, 2011 at 8:05 am

    I’d be happy to add the transcriptions to findagrave and/or the US Cemeteries project…I volunteer as the county coordinator for Cook, DeKalb, and Kendall County.

     
  3. Jennifer Holik, Professional Genealogist

    June 6, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Melissa, I think I added all my graves to FindAGrave. I don’t think I know about the US Cemeteries project though. BNC is so large I’m going to do my Kokoska plot and Emilie/Anna’s if I can find it. If she has a stone it will be old. The Kokoska stones are around 1940s and just before so not “old”. Then again I have no “old” family here. LOL!

    Nikki I’ll keep you posted. I’m back in Chicago so let me know if you have time to meet in the city sometime soon.

     
  4. airforcewife2007

    December 26, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I’m looking forward to seeing how this turns out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,739 other followers

