RSS

Mystery Monday – The Lost Kokoska Child

09 May

When I started researching my Chicago ancestors I knew my great great grandmother, Majdalena (nee Priban) Kokoska had 11 children and 10 of them were living in 1900. Who was the 11th child? Last year I found her. Emilie Kokoska born 12 June 1884 at 84 Clayton, Chicago. I could not locate a death certificate for her or a grave location. Her parents, Joseph and Majdalena purchased their burial plot at Bohemian National Cemetery just after their son Michael was killed in France during World War I. So where was Emilie?

Yesterday on FaceBook, a member of the Czech and Slovak American Genealogical Society of Illinois posted to my query about Emilie saying there was a death certificate for an Anna Kokoska for 1885. Anna was listed as living at 699 May Street, Chicago.  I have a birth certificate for another Kokoska child born at 691 May the following year. So is this Anna my Emilie and there is an error on one of the certificates? Did the family live at 699 or 691 May? Or did they live at both?

Bohemian National Cemetery has a listing for Ana Kokoska buried in Row 18 No. 1. I have to call the cemetery to find out where this grave is and who the plot owner is. I’m hoping it is Joseph Kokoska. If it is then I will search city directories to see if I can place Joseph at 699 and 691 May Street in Chicago between 1884-1886.

Will my mystery be solved this week? Not sure but I will definitely visit Ana’s grave if the owner is Joseph.

Enhanced by Zemanta
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Mystery Monday – The Lost Kokoska Child

  1. Patricia Holik

    May 9, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Jennie, let me know what you find out about this.

     
  2. redwood

    May 25, 2011 at 2:14 am

    We were just there yesterday.We took a picture of Micheal’s statue.I am pretty sure i saw the rest of his family right in the same area.I could email you that picture if you like

     
  3. Jen

    May 25, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Redwood thanks but I have all those pictures.
    Jen

     
    • redwood

      May 25, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      ok but did you find emilie?i remember commenting that i always liked that name. looking at the death certificate it could be a typo spelling amelie….

       
  4. Jen

    May 25, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I haven’t been to BNC yet. I had to leave town for Springfield, MO, a couple days after I called BNC and they wouldn’t help me. I have to go there next weekend when I get back into Chicago.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,741 other followers

