RSS

Follow Friday and Cemetery Hopping

27 Aug

Tomorrow morning my son and I will visit Queen of Heaven and Mt. Carmel cemeteries in Hillside again. I have several people on my list to look for and people from an Italian town called Sorbo San Basile. Many of that town’s immigrants came to Chicago. I am working with a professional genealogist in Italy to help her gain more knowledge of those Sorbo San Basile folks that came here and she is helping me learn more about my ancestors in Sorbo and Taverna. Many of the names in the tree are MUSTARI, MADIA, URSETTA, FRATTO, CANINNO, MIRABELLI, SCALISE, CAMPAGNA, SOLFERINO, PULLANO, TARANTINO, AND BRUNO. There are many others but those are the most common on the list of graves for which I am looking. Stay tuned if you have any of these surnames. I will be posting the grave photos on this site.

Follow Friday – Geneanthropology

I read a very thought provoking post this week on Personal Past Meditations called Geneanthropology. The post discusses the need to be an anthropologist when doing genealogy and looking into the culture of the people at which we are looking. He describes a painting that contains ghost children. For that time period, it was common to paint deceased children into family portraits as a way to remember them.

If you examine some of our cultural beliefs today, do you see any comparisons? I can say from personal experience going through IVF and miscarrying twins and a singleton early on, therefore not having a body to bury, I needed a way to remember them. I have a Willow Tree Angel called the Angel of Remembrance. She holds three green think fern-like branches in her hands. She sits in my living room as a reminder to me about the difficult time we endured, the babies we lost, and the goodness that came after that time.

What ways have you seen your cultural group handle death?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,742 other followers

